The UK Piercing Jewellery Material Transparency Index 2026

Every seller of titanium piercing jewellery says roughly the same thing: implant grade, hypoallergenic, safe for sensitive skin. Almost none of it is checkable. So we checked what 31 sellers actually put in writing β€” not whether the metal is real, but whether a shopper can find out what they are buying.

31 sellers28 pages read6 questionsChecked 3 September 2026UK market

What the sample shows

ASTM standard named
64%18 of 28 pages
Threading type stated
86%24 of 28 pages
Gauge given in mm
71%20 of 28 pages
Length given in mm
89%25 of 28 pages
Top material stated
39%11 of 28 pages
Nickel position stated
46%13 of 28 pages

Percentages are of the 28 pages that loaded. Each figure counts only what the page literally stated on 3 September 2026.

Six findings

01 The part touching your ear is the least documented thing on the page

Only 11 of 28 pages said what the decorative top is made of. That is the weakest result of the six by a wide margin β€” and it is the part in contact with the front of your ear all day.

It matters because a piece can have an implant-grade titanium bar and a top of something else entirely. Two sellers in the sample were explicit about exactly this: one states the post is titanium while the front is rhodium on sterling silver, another that the titanium carries a PVD coating. Both are being honest. The other seventeen simply do not say.

02 One in three titanium listings never names a standard

18 of 28 pages named an ASTM designation. That is better than we expected β€” but it means a third of pages describing titanium jewellery offer nothing to check.

The phrases used instead are the familiar ones: β€œimplant grade”, β€œmedical grade”, β€œG23 titanium”, β€œsurgical steel”. None of those is a standard. β€œImplant grade” in particular has no legal definition β€” it is the number after it that carries the meaning.

03 Nobody publishes proof β€” including us

Across all 28 pages we read, not one published a mill certificate, a test report, or any document supporting its material claim. Not one linked to a supplier declaration. Not one referenced the nickel release limit that actually applies in the UK.

This is the finding we like least, because Belora is in it too. The market has become better at labelling. It has not started proving. A stated standard and a verified standard are different things, and no page in this sample closes that gap.

04 Half the market sells hypoallergenic and says nothing about nickel

Only 13 of 28 pages stated a position on nickel at all, even though sensitive skin is the single biggest selling proposition of this entire category.

The mismatch runs both ways. Several pages state implant-grade titanium with real precision and then never mention nickel. Others lead with β€œhypoallergenic” β€” a word with no legal definition β€” while never naming the alloy. In the UK what is actually regulated is nickel release, under REACH Annex XVII entry 27, tested to EN 1811. No page in the sample mentioned it.

05 The same standard is written six different ways

Among the pages that do name it, we recorded: ASTM F136, ASTM F-136, ASTM-F136, F136 with no prefix, F-136 ASTM Titanium, and Ti-6AL4V-ELi ASTM F-136. One seller's product URL says β€œgrade 23” while the page itself says ASTM F-136.

These all refer to the same specification. But a shopper searching a site for β€œASTM F136” will miss the listings that hyphenate it, and a shopper comparing two sellers has no way to know the terms match. It is a small thing that quietly makes the market harder to compare than it needs to be.

06 Identical specifications, a fourteen-fold price range

The cheapest item in the sample was a titanium threadless flat back post at Β£4.11 on a marketplace listing. The most expensive comparable titanium stud was Β£60. A premium US brand listed a titanium flat back at $46.40 while naming no standard at all; a UK specialist listed one at Β£6.00 while naming the standard, the threading, the gauge in millimetres and the length.

Price and disclosure are not correlated in this sample. Some of the most expensive pages were among the least specific, and some of the cheapest were among the most.

Method

On 3 September 2026 we opened one representative page from each seller β€” a titanium flat back or labret cartilage stud product page wherever one existed, otherwise the closest collection page. We then recorded, verbatim, what that page stated against six questions. Every URL we read is linked in the table below, so any row can be re-checked.

  1. Does the page name an ASTM standard? A number, not a phrase. β€œImplant grade” alone scores nothing.
  2. Does it state the threading type? Threadless, internally threaded, or externally threaded.
  3. Is the gauge given in millimetres? β€œ16G” alone scores nothing; β€œ16G (1.2mm)” scores.
  4. Is the bar length or hoop diameter given in millimetres?
  5. Is the material of the decorative top stated? A post sold on its own scores here, because there is no top to describe.
  6. Is a position on nickel stated? Either β€œnickel-free” or β€œhypoallergenic” counts, though they are not equivalent claims.

What this index does not measure. It does not test any metal. It does not verify a single claim. A seller scoring 6 out of 6 has told you six things clearly β€” it has not proved any of them, and a page can be fully specific and still wrong. Equally, a low score is not an accusation: a solid gold specialist has no ASTM designation to give, and a fashion retailer selling steel studs for healed lobes is not doing anything improper by describing them as steel.

This is a measure of one thing only: whether the information a shopper needs is on the page. That is worth measuring because, in this category, it usually is not.

The full index

Scored out of six. Click a seller to open the exact page we read.

Seller Segment Score ASTM Thread Gauge mm Length mm Top Nickel Price shown
Belora Jewelry UK specialist 6/6 ✓ ✓ ✓ ✓ ✓ ✓ Β£14.99
Body Candy Ships to UK 6/6 ✓ ✓ ✓ ✓ ✓ ✓ $16.99
Impuria Ships to UK 6/6 ✓ ✓ ✓ ✓ ✓ ✓ $39.99
Astrid & Miyu UK fashion 5/6 ✓ β€” ✓ ✓ ✓ ✓ Β£60
Body Art Forms Ships to UK 5/6 ✓ ✓ ✓ ✓ ✓ β€” $9.95
Cartilage Cartel UK mid-market 5/6 ✓ ✓ ✓ ✓ β€” ✓ Β£18.00
Cherry Diva UK fashion 5/6 ✓ ✓ ✓ ✓ β€” ✓ Β£18.00
Crystal Heaven London UK specialist 5/6 ✓ ✓ ✓ ✓ β€” ✓ Β£8.00
J&CO Jewellery UK mid-market 5/6 β€” ✓ ✓ ✓ ✓ ✓ $29.00 USD
LΓ‰A Jewels UK mid-market 5/6 ✓ β€” ✓ ✓ ✓ ✓ Β£24.00
Maison Miru Ships to UK 5/6 ✓ ✓ ✓ ✓ β€” ✓ $40.00
Stretch It Body Jewellery UK specialist 5/6 ✓ ✓ ✓ ✓ ✓ β€” Β£6.00
Body Jewellery UK UK specialist 4/6 ✓ ✓ ✓ ✓ β€” β€” Β£15.00
Camden Body Jewellery UK specialist 4/6 ✓ ✓ ✓ ✓ β€” β€” Β£24.00
Laura Bond UK fine 4/6 β€” ✓ ✓ ✓ β€” ✓ Β£160.00
Peterson MADE Ships to UK 4/6 ✓ ✓ β€” ✓ ✓ β€” $20.00
Pierced Universe UK specialist 4/6 ✓ ✓ ✓ ✓ β€” β€” Β£14.36
Smoothie London UK mid-market 4/6 ✓ ✓ ✓ ✓ β€” β€” Β£30.00
With Bling UK mid-market 4/6 ✓ ✓ β€” ✓ ✓ β€” Β£16.00
eBay UK β€” one titanium flat back listing Marketplace listing 4/6 β€” ✓ ✓ ✓ ✓ β€” Β£4.11
Etsy β€” one titanium flat back listing Marketplace listing 3/6 ✓ ✓ β€” ✓ β€” β€” $24.47
FreshTrends Ships to UK 3/6 β€” ✓ β€” ✓ β€” ✓ $17
MARIA TASH UK fine 2/6 β€” β€” β€” ✓ β€” ✓ $880
Studs Ships to UK 2/6 β€” ✓ β€” ✓ β€” β€” $46.40
The Chain Gang UK specialist 2/6 β€” ✓ ✓ β€” β€” β€” not stated
UrbanBodyJewelry.com Ships to UK 2/6 β€” ✓ β€” ✓ β€” β€” $6.95
Helix & Conch UK mid-market 1/6 β€” ✓ β€” β€” β€” β€” not stated
Lovisa UK fashion 1/6 β€” β€” ✓ β€” β€” β€” Β£16.50
Claire's UK fashion n/a Page could not be read β€” Site could not be fetched; four URLs attempted.
Metal Mafia Ships to UK n/a Page could not be read β€” Every URL returned HTTP 403, including the site root.
Amazon UK β€” one titanium flat back listing Marketplace listing n/a Page could not be read β€” Blocked by robots.txt; two listing URLs attempted, nothing was read.

Three sellers could not be checked and are excluded from every percentage above: their rows record why. A blocked page is not a transparency failure β€” we simply have no observation.

What each page actually said

The wording below is quoted from the page as we found it. Where a field reads β€œnot stated”, the page did not address it β€” we have not paraphrased or filled in gaps.

Seller Standard named Metal, in their words Threading Nickel wording Note
Belora Jewelry ASTM F136 Implant-grade ASTM F136 titanium internally threaded 100% Hypoallergenic & Nickel-Free We publish this index. We are scored by the same six rules as everyone else.
Body Candy ASTM F-136 Rose Gold Tone PVD over ASTM F-136 Titanium threadless Hypoallergenic jewelry for sensitive skin Post-only listing.
Impuria F-136 ASTM Titanium F-136 ASTM Titanium internally threaded All products are nickel-free and hypoallergenic β€”
Astrid & Miyu ASTM F136 Implant Grade Titanium Titanium - Solid Gold PVD Coated Front not stated hypoallergenic finish Neither β€œthreadless” nor β€œthreaded” appears on the page.
Body Art Forms ASTM F136 Implant Grade Titanium threadless not stated Post-only listing with a full spec table.
Cartilage Cartel ASTM F136 Implant grade ASTM F136 titanium internally threaded Hypoallergenic. No Nickel. Stone material itself not specified.
Cherry Diva ASTM F136 Lightweight titanium construction internally threaded Hypoallergenic Page notes that surgical steel contains nickel.
Crystal Heaven London ASTM-F136 Implant Grade Titanium (Ti6Al4V ELI) threadless Hypoallergenic, stylish, and designed to provide a secure fit β€œHypoallergenic” sits in prose, not in the spec block.
J&CO Jewellery not stated Post: Titanium; front Rhodium on Sterling Silver internally threaded Nickel-free. Suitable for sensitive skin. Only the post is titanium; no grade given.
LΓ‰A Jewels F136 (written without the ASTM prefix) Implant grade F136 titanium with PVD coating not stated titanium is elemental and contains no nickel Says β€œthe front screws into the back” but never states internal or external.
Maison Miru ASTM F-136 Medical-grade (ASTM F-136) titanium threadless naturally hypoallergenic, nickel-free β€”
Stretch It Body Jewellery ASTM F-136 implant grade ASTM F-136 titanium threadless not stated Post sold on its own; compatible tops list their own materials.
Body Jewellery UK ASTM F-136 Implant-grade ASTM F-136 titanium (6AL-4V-ELI) threadless not stated Names the alloy as well as the standard.
Camden Body Jewellery ASTM F136 ASTM F136 Implant Grade Titanium threadless not stated β€”
Laura Bond not stated (solid gold, not titanium) 9k solid yellow gold and cubic zirconia crystals internally threaded nickel free Solid gold range, so no ASTM designation applies.
Peterson MADE ASTM F136 Implant Grade Titanium, ASTM F136 threadless not stated Post-only listing; tops bought separately.
Pierced Universe Ti-6AL4V-ELi ASTM F-136 Implant Grade Titanium threadless not stated URL says grade 23; the page states ASTM F-136.
Smoothie London ASTM F-136 Implant grade ASTM F-136 titanium internally threaded not stated Length appears only in the variant selector, not the spec bullets.
With Bling ASTM F136 Implant grade ASTM F136 titanium with PVD coating internally threaded not stated Gauge given as β€œ16 Gauge” with no millimetre figure.
eBay UK β€” one titanium flat back listing not stated Implant Grade Titanium threadless not stated Post only; the cheapest item in the sample.
Etsy β€” one titanium flat back listing ASTM-F136 Handcrafted using ASTM-F136 Implant-Grade Titanium threadless not stated Sizes given as combined options such as β€œ16G/6mm”, so the mm is a length not a gauge.
FreshTrends not stated Solid 14k Gold internally threaded All materials are hypoallergenic and nickel-free Their titanium category URL now serves a gold and platinum page; no titanium product found.
MARIA TASH not stated (solid gold, not titanium) 14k solid gold, nickel free and hypoallergenic not stated nickel free and hypoallergenic Page says β€œThreaded” without specifying internal or external.
Studs not stated Titanium threadless not stated Says β€œSafe for sensitive ears” but uses neither β€œnickel-free” nor β€œhypoallergenic”.
The Chain Gang not stated Titanium, Acrylic, Blackline, Niobium internally threaded not stated No titanium flat back product found; labret category is 316L steel.
UrbanBodyJewelry.com not stated G23 Titanium externally threaded not stated The only externally threaded flat back found in the whole sample.
Helix & Conch not stated Gold plated and solid 9k gold internally threaded not stated No titanium range; their FAQ states sterling-silver-based, plated or solid gold.
Lovisa not stated Surgical steel not stated not stated Gauge line reads β€œGauge: 16 g / 1.2 mm”.

Where we sit, and why you should discount it

Belora publishes this index and sells titanium piercing jewellery, so we have an obvious interest in how it reads. Three things follow, and we would rather state them than have you find them.

We scored ourselves by the same six rules and we score 6 out of 6. So do Body Candy and Impuria, and seven more sellers score 5. We are not alone at the top and the index would be worth less if we were.

Finding 03 applies to us in full. We publish no mill certificate either. We are working on changing that, and when we do, this page will say so and the rules will not change to suit us.

If we recorded your page wrong, tell us and we will fix it. Pages change, and we read one page per seller rather than a whole catalogue, which is a real limitation. Email us with the URL and we will re-check it, correct the row, and note the correction and its date at the bottom of this page.

Corrections

None yet. This is the first edition, published 3 September 2026. Corrections will be listed here with the date they were made and what changed.

Each seller was represented by a single page, chosen as the closest available match to a titanium flat back cartilage stud. A different page from the same seller may state more or less. Marketplace rows describe one listing and are not a claim about the platform or about any individual third-party seller. Prices are recorded in the currency the page displayed. Nothing here is a statement about the quality, safety or legality of any seller’s products β€” only about what their page said on 3 September 2026.